My Beliefs Are My Sword, My Bible Is My Shield

If you are reading this you probably already know I am a die-hard Christian.  I am a proud Christian above all other titles.  Being a Christ follower is a decision I made decades ago, and certainly one of the best decisions of my life.

It is very unfortunate that it took the United States Supreme Court to decide all Americans should be treated equally.  However, on 6.26.15 they did just that.  It is also unfortunate that many “Christians” decided that day was the time to send a loud and clear self-serving message.  The day after the Supreme Court ruled all Americans have a right to pursue marital happiness we see this meme getting shared like crazy.

Yes

Sounds innocent, right?  Let’s break it down. 

#1) “Yes, I am a Christian.  I believe the Bible.”

So do hundreds of thousands of Christians who read Luke 6:31 and prayed for the Supreme Court to make the right decision.  The majority of gay people believes in the bible, and has a personal relationship with Christ.  The very first sentence of this meme belittles those relationships.

#2) “I do not support homosexuality/homosexual marriage.”

  1. That’s quite alright.  If you cannot accept all of who I am I am not interested in your support.
  2. The term homosexual marriage, and quotes around it, is very telling of where you stand and what you think.
  3. Did someone recently ask you your opinion as I am not sure why you took this opportunity to ensure all were clear on your stance?

#3) “Yes, I still love you.”  Really, prove it because you have a strange way of showing it!

Yes, we are still friends.” I am glad you think so.  I am not sure I want a friend who doesn’t celebrate me and believes my family is not equal to theirs.

No, I am not judging you.”  Are you being serious here?

No, I am not condemning you to hell.” You don’t need to condemn me to hell the meme you chose to post is doing a fine job implying that.

No, I will not let anyone bully you.” By promoting this meme you are perpetuating the belief that gay people are second class and certainly not of God.  Thus we will continue to experience bullying from pulpits, politicians, the media, sports figures, class-mates, co-workers, parents and the list goes on.  Consider yourself my biggest bully.

#4) “But realize that name calling and stereotyping those of us who stand for what we believe is exactly what you don’t want done to you.”  Although it is more lack of understanding and education on the topic and less of a “belief” I will say I am whole-heartedly against any person stereotyping and name-calling another. This we agree on.

“We have a right to speak what we believe.” I always find it fascinating to hear, “I don’t believe in homosexuality.”  Being gay is not like Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny; it is who we are not a fantasy character one can choose to believe in or not.  Gay people are like the weather; it is what it is.

 #5) Same as you have a right to speak what you believe.” 

Timing my friend.  It’s all about timing.  The gay community suffered and fought for decades, and countless died, to obtain the same rights you enjoy and take for granted every day. Do you have any clue of the hatred, animosity and violence we endure? Have you spent any time educating yourself on who we are and our many contributions before running to the computer with a feel-good self-serving meme?

If the tables were turned I would not steal the excitement of life-changing news, or use that moment as an opportunity to judge, cherry-pick the bible, and disrespect my family and friends. I have friends and family who are divorced and remarried. The bible is against this (Luke 16). I have friends and family that had sex before marriage. The bible is against this (1 Corinthians 7). The majority of my friends and family were not virgins on their wedding night. The bible is clearly against this even calling for their stoning (Deuteronomy 22). I could continue with endless examples but you get the point.

I do not know what would give anyone the audacity to think posting this meme – especially immediately after the breath-taking long-awaited good news to millions of people and families – acceptable let alone loving or Christian.  Again it is the timing in particular that makes this inflammatory.  The psychos at West Baptist Church never picket a funeral until the timing is right for a loud and clear message of deep-rooted dislike.  This meme is not innocent.  It is meant to send a loud and clear – not to mention very hurtful – message.  That is anything but Christian.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My Beliefs Are My Sword, My Bible Is My Shield

  1. Update. I didn’t see you were labelled “christians” but my comments are still valid.

  2. Loved this! Just one nit-picking pet peeve of mine. It’s Santa Claus, not Santa Clause. “Damn you, Tim Allen!”

Leave a comment